It’s Monday! What are you reading?

5 Jul

This fun weekly book meme was created by  J.Kaye’s Book Blog, but  Sheila from One Person’s Journey Through a World of  Books has taken over hosting duties. It’s a great way to not only keep track of what you are reading and have read, but to let others know of any great books coming up.

Read last week:
Linger by Maggie Stiefvater –  Okay, I HAD to read this as soon as it arrived. Amazing. Just as good as Shiver.

Currently reading:
Paul is Undead by Alan Goldsher – Freaking hilarious!

To read:
Okay, here’s the thing: when I select which books I want to read I find that I never get those books read. So this is a list of books from which I will choose. Since I only read one book last week, my goal this week is to read three. It’s supposed to be fairly rainy, so the odds are good.

Wicked Girls: A Novel of the Salem Witch Trials by Stephanie Hemphill – A friend wants to borrow this (I’m going to read it, Amy, I swear!) so I’m hoping to get to it this week.

Alex Van Helsing: Vampire Rising by Jason Henderson – Van Helsing as a teen. Kinda cool, eh?

If You Follow Me by Malena Watrous – This one has been on my review shelf for a while (bad, bad blogger!). It’ll be a change from the paranormal and YA binge I seem to be on.

Newspaper Blackout by Austin Kleon – I don’t read a lot of poetry, even though I write it. This volume of poems written by blacking out words from New York Times articles looks amazing. I’ll be hosting a giveaway once I read it.

The Whisperers by John Connolly – I loved Connolly’s The Reapers and thought it was so unique for the genre. Hoping this one lives up to my expectations.

Those are the books I’ll be picking from this week.

What are YOU reading?

7 Responses to “It’s Monday! What are you reading?”

  1. amymckie July 5, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Great list of books! I am reading Sisters Red right now, and I am bad at deciding in advance too so I am not sure what I’ll read next!

    (I did finish both Dust and The Replacement last week though so they are ready for you!)

    • lavenderlines July 5, 2010 at 9:15 am #

      Um yeah, can I borrow Sisters Red when you’re done? LOL

      • amymckie July 6, 2010 at 9:00 am #

        Of course 😀 I may need it when the first week of August comes around to answer discussion questions for ‘Once Upon a Week’ but I’ve finished reading it so you can take it any time!

  2. Marie July 5, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    I loved Kleon’s “Newspaper Blackout”. I can’t wait to see what you think.

    I just finished “A Thread of Sky” by Deanna Fei. Loved it. “The Book of Human Skin” by Michelle Lovric is next.

    • lavenderlines July 5, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      I think I’m going to really love it. I want to get back into reading more poetry.

  3. steph July 7, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    Have you read Connolly’s The Gates, or The Book of Lost Things? Loved them both!

    • lavenderlines July 8, 2010 at 6:02 am #

      Nope I’ve only read The Reapers. But he’s an author I definitely want to read more of.

Leave a Reply

