In My Mailbox

4 Jul

This is one of my favorite weekly book memes, but I’ve never taken part before. Not sure why. But this week was a great book week, so I thought I’d share my excitement.

In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

These books are all for review. I did excellent on my book buying ban so far. Although I think I’m heading into Indigo to pick up a gift. And they have a sale. Sigh.

From HarperCollins Canada

Emily The Strange: Stranger and Stranger by Rob Reger. I loved the weirdness of the first book. A combination of story, drawing and lists, it was a unique read. Can’t wait to dig into this one.

Wayfarer by RJ Anderson. The second in Anderson’s series about tree dwelling fairies, these are not the usual fairies that I normally like to read about, but there was something so sweet and wonderful about the first book that I had to get the second.

From Simon and Schuster Canada

The Whisperers by John Connolly. I’ve read one of Connolly’s books for review before and it was so different from anything that I had read in the past, that I jumped at the chance to get The Whisperers for review.

From Scholastic Canada

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater. OMG the yelling and happy-dancing that went on when this one came! I’ve already read it and loved it every bit as much as I loved Shiver. I’m part of the blog tour for Linger, so my review will be posted later this month.

Countdown by Deborah Wiles. This is the first in a Sixties Trilogy from Wiles. I’ve never read anything from this era but I have a feeling this is going to become one of my favorite series.

Dark Life by Kat Falls.  I love dystopian novels, especially YA dystopian. This story of a boy who lives on the seabed, his fight with outlaws, friendship with a girl from the Topside and growing distrust of the government is right up my alley.

From Nimbus Publishing

Receiving books from this publisher is a first for me. I was tickled pink because they contacted me to see if I wanted to review a couple of their titles.  I’ve received a couple of pitches from publishers I’ve worked with, but this was the first time a new publisher contacted me, so it’s a big milestone.

Her Mother’s Daughter by Lesley Crewe. While I’ve hear of Crewe, I’ve never read anything by her before. This book is about sisters and family. It’s set in Louisbourg, which is in my neck of the woods. I love the idea of promoting East Coast authors.

The Case Against Owen Williams by Allan Donaldson. This is a courtroom drama set in New Brunswick.  I used to love courtroom dramas but haven’t read one in years. This book will not only reintroduce me to the genre, but once again allow me to support an East Coast author.

From ECW Press

Truly, Madly, Deadly: The Unofficial True Blood Companion by Becca Wilcott.  I love Charlaine Harris. I love True Blood. I love Becca Wilcott. ‘Nuff said.

10 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. Missie July 4, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    GAH!
    Book Buying Ban??? Why?

    You are stronger than I!

    Great titles! I’m excited for you!

    • lavenderlines July 4, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

      The reason for the book buying ban is the 300 + unread books spread throughout my house!

  2. lexiepiper July 4, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    You got Linger! Wow, I’m so jealous! Hope you enjoy all of your books 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 4, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks. I don’t know which one to start first! LOL

  3. geeekygirl July 4, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    I’m really glad you thought Linger lived up to Shiver. I can’t wait to read it.

  4. amymckie July 5, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    OMG CAN I BORROW LINGER?! (Sorry for the yelling, hard to control myself 😉 lol)

    • lavenderlines July 5, 2010 at 8:42 am #

      Um, yeah, of course! It’s awesomeness equals or maybe even surpasses that of Shiver.

      • amymckie July 5, 2010 at 8:46 am #

        Woooo! So excited!!

  5. Vanessa July 5, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Great books! Looking forward to your reviews, especially Wayfarer.
    These are the ones we got this week: Vlog
    Take care!
    Vanessa
    Book ♥ Soulmates

  6. Brandi Kosiner July 6, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Looks like a great week. Happy Reading! Here’s mine if you wanna check it out.

Leave a Reply

