Happy Canada Day, eh!

1 Jul

In honor of Canada Day, there was a pretty cool hashtag floating around Twitter yesterday: canadianauthorseh. It got me thinking about some of my all time favorite Canadian authors and books. So, in honor of Canada Day, here’s a list of some of them.

Historical Fiction
The Day the Falls Stood Still by Cathy Buchanan – This was one of my favorite reads of last year. In true Canadian fashion it was epic in a quiet way. Beautifully written with rich scenery and characters, it’s one of those books that sticks with you for awhile.

Women’s Fiction
Spin by Catherine MacKenzie – This book is so, so much more than chick lit. Really. Smartly written, hilarious at times, this is not just my fave Canadian “women’s fiction” novel, it’s my favorite “women’s fiction” novel, period.

Urban Fantasy
Kelley Armstrong – I love every single word that Kelley writes, so there is no way to narrow it down to one book without making my head explode. Her Women of the Other World series is my favorite urban fantasy series.

Classics
Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery – I went through an Anne phase when I was in junior high and it kinda never went away. I didn’t want to be Anne, but I loved the idea of house like Green Gables, living in the country. When you consider the fact that I married a man with close ties to L.M. Montgomery’s community and I live in a century farm house with 36 acres, you realize the impact this book had on me.

Children’s
The Green Gable Detectives by Eric Wilson – I remember in grade 7 going to a reading and book signing by Eric. I walked out of the library, holding my signed book, bursting inside. It was really the first time I thought about being a writer. I love all of Eric’s books, but this one has a special place in my heart.

YA
Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr – I love all of Melissa’s books, but Wicked Lovely introduced me to the world of Fae and through reading about the Fae, their land and hierarchy I came to realize that traditional fantasy may not be such a bad thing.

General Fiction
Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood – I first read this book in grade 8 and was absolutely blown away by the story, imagery and Atwood’s general way with words. While Eric Wilson’s books made me realize I wanted to be a writer, Atwood’s Cat’s Eye, while a novel, opened my eyes to the world of poetic lines.

Honorable mentions
Anything by Timothy Findley – His writing is so varied, each book so unique, I had no idea where to include him in the list but knew he had to be on it.

Glace Bay Miner’s Museum by Sheldon Currie – This was a wonderful, heart-wrenching read. As an East Coast gal who spent her first 7 years in Cape Breton, I felt a person connection with this one.

View From a Kite by Maureen Hull – This book made me realize how much I loved quirky characters.

Miriam Toews – I’ve read three of her books and each one was brilliant. Another author that is hard to classify.

What are some of your favorite Canadian books?

12 Responses to “Happy Canada Day, eh!”

  1. Suzanne July 1, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Happy Canada Day from an expat!

    I loved all of Rohinton Mistry’s books, though sadly he hasn’t released a new one in quite a while.
    I enjoyed Mordecai Richler’s non-fiction work, not so much his novels.

    Other authors I like: Miriam Toews, Margaret Atwood, Jane Urquhart, Wayne Johnson, Yann Martel

    I am visiting the homeland next month and have to pick up The Day The Falls Stood Still and Spin, probably a few more….

    • lavenderlines July 1, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      Happy Canada Day!

      My hubby loves Richler’s kids books. We have a non -fiction of his somewhere in the house.

      Oh, you TOTALLY have to pick up Spin and The Day the Falls Stood Still. Oh, and the Truth about Delilah Blue. Which reminds me I have to add Tish Cohen to my list. LOL

  2. littlefluffycat July 1, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    you know, @DonLinn was asking today about a good accessible history of Canada – do you know one of those?

    My fave Canadian author is Doug Coupland – I especially like ELEANOR RIGBY.

    • lavenderlines July 1, 2010 at 10:06 am #

      History is so not my subject. LOL

      I have a couple of Coupland’s books here but haven’t read them yet.

  3. amymckie July 1, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I had NO idea that Melissa Marr was Canadian!

    Some of my favorites, not on your list, would include: Ami MacKay (The Birth House), Steven Galloway (The Cellist of Sarajevo), Brian Vallee (Life With Billy, The War on Women), Lesley Livingstone (Wondrous Strange, Darklight).

    And L.M. Montgomery of course, our local celebrity πŸ˜‰

    • lavenderlines July 1, 2010 at 10:05 am #

      Hey, once I read your comment about Melissa, I had to go double check. LOL

      Lesley Livingston is Canadian? I don’t think I knew that! Wondrous Strange was a great read.

      LOVED the Birth House.

      • amymckie July 1, 2010 at 10:08 am #

        After your comment about Lesley I had to go and double check. LOL. But yes, Lesley is in Toronto.

        And yes yes yes The Birth House was incredible wasn’t it.

      • lavenderlines July 1, 2010 at 10:11 am #

        Birth House was beautiful and not at all what I was expecting.
        Have you read Glace Bay Miner’s Museum?

      • amymckie July 1, 2010 at 10:13 am #

        I have not… but I’ve added it to my wish list now πŸ™‚

      • lavenderlines July 1, 2010 at 10:29 am #

        If I can find my copy I’ll lend it to you. πŸ™‚

      • amymckie July 1, 2010 at 10:30 am #

        Thank you πŸ˜€ So awesome having a local blogger friend!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All Around the World News - July 1, 2010

    Happy Canada Day, eh! Β« Lavender Lines…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

