Review and Giveaway: Emily The Strange

22 Jun

HarperCollins Canada, 2009

13 Elements you will find in the first Emily the Strange novel:

1. Mystery

2. A beautiful golem

3. Souped-up slingshots

4. Four black cats

5. Amnesia

6. Calamity Poker

7. Angry ponies

8. A shady truant officer

9. Top-13 lists

10. A sandstorm generator

11. Doppelgängers

12. A secret mission

13. Earwigs

From HarperCollins website.

Emily The Strange: The Lost Days was, well, a very strange book. So strange, in fact, that at first I wasn’t sure what to think of the book or Emily. But once I got into the story I fell in love with the quirky Emily and her story of amnesia, mystery and a robot.

Emily tells of her quest to find out who she is through a diary that includes pictures, drawings and lists. Lots of lists.

This was a fun book to read and at first you might be tempted to write it off as fluff, but it’s also a very intelligent book. There were lots of twists and turns and plenty of creepy, evil characters to keep even the most reluctant reader interested.

I’m lucky enough to have an extra copy of Emily The Strange: The Lost Days to give away to one  reader.  Just leave a comment below on something totally strange that has happened to you. For example, I had a baby grackle throw-up in my hair last night. Kinda strange, right? The contest is open worldwide and will go until the 30th of June.

Thanks to HarperCollins for strangely sending me 2 copies of Emily The Strange.

Browse inside Emily the Strange: The Lost Days.

22 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Emily The Strange”

  1. tan June 22, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    I haven’t had a dream that I remember for 10 years. I find that very strange considering I have a diary of my dreams from High School that is nearly full.

    • lavenderlines June 22, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      You haven’t had a dream in 10 years? Yeah, that is kinda weird. Want some of mine? LOL

  2. Bailey June 22, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    One of the strangest things that’s ever happened to me was going on a trip to Disney World with my family -at the time, my younger sister had undiagnosed Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD), and the trip was just a surreal experience. She would stop moving due to a compulsion and have to be carried or ride in a wheelchair for us to get anywhere. She finally got diagnosed and is now a brilliant and vivacious high school student, but at the time, that trip was possibly the most bizarre and strange experience of my life.

    • lavenderlines June 22, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      Sheesh, that does sound weird. I find the idea of Disney strange to begin with. 😛 I’m happy to hear that your sis was properly diagnosed & is doing great. :0)

  3. MartinaCK June 22, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    Strange for me is living/loving/breathing books and yet none of my friends share my passion!! Who is more strange? Me or them…..

    At least me daughters love books as much as I do.

    😀

    • lavenderlines June 22, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

      At least your online friends share your obsession, I mean, passion. 😛

    • lavenderlines June 22, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

      At least your online friends share your obsession, I mean, passion. 😛

  4. dawn June 23, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    Our electronic items used to turn on and off by themselves. I was sure our house was haunted. It turned out being power surges but it was very strange to be sitting around and have things turn on and off.

    • lavenderlines June 23, 2010 at 7:02 am #

      Do you read horror or paranormal books? Because that would have freaked me out!

  5. Darcy B June 23, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    When I was 17 I lived in London, I was staying in a dorm with 30 other school mates, one evening our school was having a fashion show, followed by a dinner and dance. A group of 8 of us left about 5:00 pm to head to the school–we hailed a cab and asked the driver to radio for another –we loaded our stuff and then waited for the other cab. While we were waiting we noticed the building across the street (it was a high street so it’s very wide) we saw a bunch of men in white robes –it looked like they were putting sand bags on the roof –we commented–what’s up with that—we went on our way and had a long night—we got home about 2:00 am it was dark but we saw fire engines all up and down our street–we asked our dorm mother what happened, but she had fallen asleep–she told us it was probably a heart attack and told us to get to bed. The next day we found out there had been a fire at the building across the street and that a woman and 3 children had died. We talked to the firemen and told them what we saw—they told us it wasn’t possible the people that lived there were a bunch of Pakistani women and their children, they were all widows and their children—no men in the building.

    • lavenderlines June 23, 2010 at 7:02 am #

      Okay, you totally gave me goosebumps!

  6. Jennifer M June 23, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    In college, I had a long elaborate dream about my great-aunt, whom I hadn’t seen in years. It turned out that she was passing away while I had the dream, and the events of the dream mimicked what was actually happened.

    • lavenderlines June 23, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      Okay, that’s just uber-creepy! And kinda cool. 🙂

  7. Jason June 24, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    My computer rebooted by itself and opened to a picture of my Grandma who died 6 months ago

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

    • lavenderlines June 24, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

      Yeah, that definitely qualifies as strange! And yay for being the first guy to enter. 🙂

  8. PragmaticMom June 24, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    I guess strange is good. There is a house for sale down the street from me and it’s said to be haunted. Really. Even the real estate agent agrees. It’s really difficult to sell and the new buyers never stay long. Creepy. It’s over 120 years old.

    Pragmatic Mom
    Type A Parenting for the Modern World

    http://PragmaticMom.com
    I blog on children’s lit, parenting and education

  9. Steven R. McEvoy June 25, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Loved this book, have not written my review yet. Am reading book 2 Stranger and Stranger.

    Steven

    • lavenderlines June 25, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      Stranger and Stranger just came in the mail this morning. Can’t wait to read it.

  10. Alicia June 26, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    I tripped & fell face first into a brick wall this week. That was pretty strange.

    Thanks for the giveaway >^..^<

    • lavenderlines June 26, 2010 at 8:23 am #

      Kinda embarrassing, too, eh? 😛

  11. Cassandra June 28, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    I’m not sure if this is so much strange as it is freaky/scary, but this is the first thing that popped into my head: It was the dead of night (like 2 am), and I hear rustling leaves in the wind and all that jazz. I hear voices outside my window, but dismiss it as a howling of sorts. However, two minutes later a loud knocking sounds through my window, and I see this hand reaching out to me. I freakin’ jumped up out of my bed and my heart only started beating again when I realised that it was my brother, come late home from a fun night out. He apologised for nearly giving me a heart attack shortly after. :\

    Thank you for the lovely giveaway! I have an Emily the Strange shirt, in fact, and now that it’s winter here in Australia I wear it under my clothing (because it’s long sleeve and surprisingly quite warm for just a shirt). Just a random fact. 😛

    Cassandra
    cc932005[at]hotmail[dot]com

    • lavenderlines June 28, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      Yeah, I’d say that was strange AND scary! I find that the two quite often go together. And Emily the Strange shirt, eh? Lucky you!/

Leave a Reply

