Book stress

17 Jun

I love books. I love reading books. I love when there’s a knock on my door and the delivery man is there with a box of shiny new books.  Writing about books, talking about books, dreaming about books. I love it all.

What I don’t love is when all of a sudden my TBR pile is out of control, I have review books screaming to be read and release dates fast approaching on ARCS. I panic. I freeze. Sometimes I even cry. And I almost always stop reading.  These mini-meltdowns (or Book Induced Anxiety (BIA)) seem to suck my desire to read ANYTHING right out of me. So even less reading and reviewing gets done. Which means more stress. Which results in less reading. Which – well, you get the picture.

These reading funks are no fun, nope, not at all. I usually end up with 1/2 a dozen or so books started but none finished.  I’ll try reading different genres but it’s usually a no-go. Most times I get so stressed out that I shop. And what do I buy?  You guessed it: more books.

So, how do I beat BIA? I don’t have a tried and true method. Sometimes picking up a well loved book and reading it helps (anything by Kelley Armstrong) or I tried to read something completely out of my normal reading zone (Alyson Noel’s Immortal series). I might pick up a short book or graphic novel so that I can feel the satisfaction of finishing a book.

I often wondered if I was the only book blogger who experiences reading funks brought on by BIA. I talked to a few bloggers on Twitter and it looks like this can be a common occurance.

Do you ever suffer from BIA? How do you deal with it?

12 Responses to “Book stress”

  1. Marie June 17, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Yep, I get BIA. I just keep plugging along and remind myself that this is supposed to be fun.

    • lavenderlines June 18, 2010 at 8:29 am #

      I think that’s the thing for me. I need to remind myself that I love doing this and that I’m lucky to be doing this. And reading IS supposed to be fun!

  2. Chrisbookarama June 17, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Yes! Right now I’ve stopped accepting pitches for reviews. And I avoid looking directly at my bookshelves. *shudder*

    • lavenderlines June 18, 2010 at 8:28 am #

      I rarely get pitches for review, but find myself requesting books that I think I’ll like. And I have my TBR review shelf in my bedroom by my bed. Methinks it’ll get moved this week end. :0O

  3. JK June 17, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    I think BIA should be coined. It’s for real. And Kelley Armstrong DOES help! As do things outside the normal reading zone.

    • lavenderlines June 18, 2010 at 8:27 am #

      I kinda worship Kelley Armstrong, but in a healthy non restraining order required kinda way. LOL

  4. Amanda June 17, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    I don’t really have to deal with the ARC issue. I only review classics, so..you know..those guys are dead and can’t come a-pitchin’. I do feel pressure to read large tomes faster, though, knowing that my readers are waiting. Or maybe they’re not waiting, and I just like to think they are ;).

    At any rate, it helps to remember that you’re doing this because you love it. In that, we’re all fortunate.

    http://deadwhiteguyslit.blogspot.com

    • lavenderlines June 18, 2010 at 8:26 am #

      Yeah, I so do love reading and reviewing books and it does help to keep that in mind. Nice to know you don’t have any author ghosties hounding you to review their book. 😛

  5. The Library Lurker June 18, 2010 at 12:16 am #

    Oh boy do I get BIA. Normally it’s because I’m really not enjoying the book that I’m reading as much as I should and I feel like that’s cheating the other books on my shelf. I stop and pick up a book that I really want to read. If that doesn’t work I don’t let myself read until I’m about to die from boredom, then when I finally pick up a book it’s a huge relief. Reminding myself that I’m doing this for me, not for my followers, also helps me to slow down and enjoy things a little bit as well.

    • lavenderlines June 18, 2010 at 8:36 am #

      I tend to get caught up in “OMG the publisher is going to be mad if I don’t review this ASAP and then I’ll end up on the bad bloggers list” thought process which is totally in my head. Once I wrap my head around the fact that this isn’t a race and the point is to enjoy the books, my BIA should be under control.

  6. amymckie June 19, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Ahhh the huge tbr really makes it hard to decide what to read next, I completely agree. I find myself continually reading a chapter and then changing my mind and choosing something else instead. I only just began to get pitches, but have learnt quickly to say no unless I really want it!

    So, you want to come over and borrow some books this week? 😉

    • lavenderlines June 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      Heh heh heh. Yeah, actually I do, if the offer is still opened. 🙂

Leave a Reply

