Getting back on track

13 Jun

The past couple of months have been a wee bit hectic . Hubby is still working away from home 3 weeks out of the month. That alone is starting to wear thin, since he has been doing it for almost a year.

In the last month we have purchased  4 baby chickens who are currently living in an aquarium in our living room until they are big enough to go outside in the chicken coop. I was also raising 5 sparrows and 3 grackles for release. 4 of the sparrows have been released and I have since picked up 2 baby crows that are living in our aviary outside until they can fly and be released. Add this to our own animals and I have been a bit run off my feet. And I have, unfortunately, once again  let this blog slip a bit. It seems that when I have too much going on in my life I stop writing and blogging, which is kind of counter-productive, since sometimes the only “me” time I get is when I’m working on the blog, be it writing a review or reading.

Now that I seem to have had a spike in viewers I want to get things back on track. So I’m setting some goals, but small ones. Consider them baby steps. This way I can get this blog running the way I want it to without adding too much extra responsibility and pressure on myself. I tend to set a thousand unrealistic goals all at once (Multiple posts daily, 5 books read a week, writing 3 hours a day) that are impossible for me to accomplish. So smaller goals are something new for me.

1. Post once a day. This one is the most important, I think. Be it a review, some of my own writing, a link to another blog or ramblings about my life, I’ll be updating the blog daily.

2. 2 books a week read.  This is way more realistic than my 5 books a week. After all I do need to eat and sleep.

3. Some form of my own writing daily. I need to get back into writing. I think once I do, other things will start to be easier to deal with. Instead of starting off with a set amount each day, I’m just going to make sure that I’m writing something, be it a poem, part of one of my WIPs or the outline for a short story.

Once I’ve been accomplishing these goals, then I will slowly add more.

4 Responses to “Getting back on track”

  1. Marie June 14, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Sounds like you’ve been busy. Good luck with your baby steps!

    • lavenderlines June 14, 2010 at 11:44 am #

      Thanks Marie. :0)

  2. Amanda Makepeace June 16, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Sounds like a plan! I think we all get off track sometimes.

    • lavenderlines June 16, 2010 at 9:31 am #

      Yeah, it’s just a part of life, I think. The important thing is we try to get back on track, eh?

Leave a Reply

