Review: My Story: The Hunger by Carol Drinkwater

11 Jun

Scholastic Canada, 2010

It’s 1845 and blight has destroyed the precious potato crop, leaving Ireland starving. Phyllis works hard to support her struggling family, but when her mother’s health deteriorates she sets off in search of her rebel brother and is soon swept up in the fight for a free and fair Ireland.

From Scholastic Canada website.

 

I seriously wish books like My Story: The Hunger were around when I was younger and struggling to learn about history. Yes, this is a novel, therefore fiction; but the story is based in historical truth. In fact, I learned things about the Potato Famine that I never knew before reading this book.

I loved the fact that this book was written in diary form. It made the story and what was going on in Ireland at that time very personal and made me more vested and interested in the story line. And this book isn’t just about the Potato Famine, either. There is plenty of family drama and romance to keep even the most reluctant reader interested.

For the age group the My Story series is geared towards (9 and up) I think these books are an excellent jumping off point to get kids interested in history. And of course, for adults like me who hated history, it’s a chance to learn a few facts about the past.

The inner kid in me thanks Scholastic Canada for the review copy.

4 Responses to “Review: My Story: The Hunger by Carol Drinkwater”

  1. Katrina Ditablan April 15, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Well, this is a great book that I read! First, my classmate, Ellie, said that this is a good book. So I borrowed it to our school library. When I read the first page, that diary was from Phylly’s brother called Pat or Patrick. Then, Phyllis intoduced herself in to the diary. And I thought that this one was really a good book. And did Bridget likes Pat?? Why didn’t she turned back to Edward? Well it’s good if Phylly x Edward.

    • kayla November 30, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      im a 5th grade student and my teacher was taking about people and how there familes have loved ones so i picked up this book and now i cant wait to read the BLOODY TOWER

  2. anonimo May 31, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    it is a very cool story because its real and it is interesting too and I never tought that history and fun could be together but in this case yes and want to thank the author for writting this book cause I never thought of something real happening like that.

  3. Amanda Seach August 16, 2013 at 12:53 am #

    I love the hunger and I really want to read the great plague and titanic and pompie

Leave a Reply

