A (sort) of reading challenge: the results

3 Apr

So you may remember a while back  I started a self imposed book buying ban. The plan was to not buy ANY books for three months.

Well, my three months are up, so it’s time for me to ‘fess up about how well I did.

First of all, let me tell you this: when I told my hubby, friends and family what I was planning I was greeted with giggles, head shaking or, in the case of dear hubby, a patronizing “Sure, I can see it working.” Nobody believed I could do it.

But I did! Kinda. Almost. Hell, I did better than I thought I would.

From December 26th to March 27th, I only bought 2 books. And since they were each 49 cents, they really don’t count, right?

Then, on the March 27th or there abouts, when hubby was here for his week home, we hit the bookstore. Have I mentioned that he’s my book buying enabler? There was a sale (isn’t there always a sale in these stories?) and I picked up 2 books. And hubby bought me one on writing, which, I mean, really doesn’t count, cuz it’s for work, right?

So, I think that I kicked ass on this one and I’m really proud of myself. Of course, I substituted buying books with borrowing them from the library and still haven’t read many of mine own, but I’ll work on that. Is it politically correct to have an anti library challenge? :0P

2 Responses to “A (sort) of reading challenge: the results”

  1. Cat April 3, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I think library borrowing is just fine. Sure, you’re not reading the books you have, but you’re not spending money on new ones so it’s sort of better. I think. Anyhow. Yeah.

    And that’s pretty awesome. I wish I had that much will power. Because I don’t.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A (sort of) reading challenge: round two « Lavender Lines - June 22, 2010

    […] in January I put myself on a three month book buying ban. And I did pretty darn good, too. But here’s the thing: I ended up borrowing a crapload of […]

Leave a Reply

