Music Monday: Wavin’ Flag

15 Mar

Okay, I never, ever thought it would be possible for a song to make me actually like Justin Bieber. But it happened. Of course, it’s a song supporting an amazing cause, but still.

A bunch of Canadian artists came together to re-record K’naan’s Wavin’ Flag. All proceeds for the single go directly to help the people of Haiti. I love the original version of this song and was intrigued by the idea of a remake. But when I heard Justin Bieber was going to be in it, I rolled my eyes so hard I saw the inside of my head.

When the video came out this past Friday I braced myself. I watched. I cried. I loved it. I loved Justin Bieber.

Now, in case you think the sentiments of the song overcame me, causing me to temporarily like Justin Bieber, I can assure you this was not the case. When I watched the remake of We Are the World, I still hated autotune. And Lil’ Wayne. With a passion.

I don’t know what happened. But (gasp!) one of the best parts of the song for me was Justin’s part.

Here, you be the judge. (Justin is the kid that sings at the end, in case you didn’t know.)

Oh, and after you watch the video, scoot over to iTunes and buy the single, k?

2 Responses to “Music Monday: Wavin’ Flag”

  1. Suzanne March 15, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Wow – thanks for posting.
    I’m out the loop though, I don’t recognize too many of the artists.

    • lavenderlines March 15, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      I recognized about 90% of them. Some, though, I have no idea. Waiting until hubby is home so he can tell me who’s who’s. LOL

Leave a Reply

