A (sort of) reading challenge

19 Jan

I own waaaay too many books. I know this. I knew it when I was packing them up to move and I knew it when I was unpacking them. I have probably close to 100 books that I haven’t read yet.

While I was unpacking, I was actually having mini panic attacks over the book situation. Talk about overwhelming. And now I find that when I finish a book, I have no idea what I should read next.

So when I came across a post on Bart’s Bookshelf about a self imposed book buying bane, I thought, Yeah, I so need this.

So here’s the deal: for the next three months I’m not buying one book. Not at a bookstore, yard sale, flea market or anywhere else I may come across books. April 1st I will re-evaluate the book sitch and go from there.

It’ll be hard since I’m a bit of a stress shopper, and trust me, there is no end to the stress in my life right now. But it’s something I need to do. So here I go.

8 Responses to “A (sort of) reading challenge”

  1. Suzanne January 19, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Good luck! I resolved to buy less books in 2010 but I don’t know if I can go completely cold turkey.

  2. jm January 19, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Libraries.

  3. Tricia February 2, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Good luck! I have lots on my shelf to read too – but I find it comforting rather than overwhelming..Whenever I read one I give it away so they don’t pile up too much.

    My problem was with how much I was spending – so I am starting to go to Friends of the Library Bookstore where great books are super cheap. Sometimes I check out books from the library but I find the due dates a little stressful.

    • lavenderlines February 3, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      Yeah, I’m not sure how the whole due date thing is going to work out, but I figured I’d give it a go. Plus, I can always renew the books from home. :0)

  4. Jean February 19, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    I hear you! But books keep finding their way to me! Don’t let your TBR pile stress you out!

    (I think we need a support group for this!)

  5. ~Linda~ February 20, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    Wow till april … Looks to see when Lover Mine by JR Ward comes out…. Ohhhh April 27th.. shuuuuush… ok good luck ;0)

    • lavenderlines February 20, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

      Yeah, something tells me that won’t be one that I buy. While I’m sure it will be a delish read, I’m not into romance novels. :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A (sort) of reading challenge: the results « Lavender Lines - April 3, 2010

    […] you may remember a while back  I started a self imposed book buying ban. The plan was to not buy ANY books for three […]

Leave a Reply

