Review: Spin by Catherine McKenzie

18 Jan

Katie Sandford has just gotten an interview at her favourite music magazine, The Line. It’s the chance of a lifetime. So what does she do? Goes out to celebrate — and shows up still drunk at the interview. No surprise, she doesn’t get the job, but the folks at The Line think she might be perfect for another assignment for their sister gossip rag. All Katie has to do is follow It Girl Amber Sheppard into rehab. If she can get the inside scoop (and complete the 30-day program without getting kicked out), they’ll reconsider her for the job at The Line.

Katie takes the job. But things get complicated when real friendships develop, a cute celebrity handler named Henry gets involved, and Katie begins to realize she may be in rehab for a reason. Katie has to make a decision — is publishing the article worth everything she has to lose?

From HarperCollins website

Damn, I loved this book! Damaged female lead, awkward situations, quirky friends and a hunky guy – honeslty? What’s not to love?

When I’m really into a book I devour it until I’m done. I also have a tendency to want to see what’s coming up so bad that I skim words, sometimes even whole paragraphs, so I can see what’s going to happen next. While reading Spin I quite often had to remind myself to slow down and smell the roses, or in this case read each wonderful word that McKenzie wrote. And the way she strung words together in this book was wonderful. And addictive.

I love damaged characters, and Spin had them a-plenty. And they weren’t so damaged that they were unbelievable – I could definintely identify with them. Maybe not with what they were going through, but the under lying reasons for their problems.

Quite often books that are catagorised as chic lit end up being a bit over the top and the characters come off as, well, cartoonie. McKenzie did a wicked job of keeping the balance between humourous and believable and given the fact that alcoholism and drug addiction played a major part in the plot, I’m sure it was a tough thing to do. But McKenzie pulls it off brilliantly.

Another thing that chic lit books sometimes go over board on is the romance (which usually makes me roll my eyes, gag, or both). For me, Spin had just the right touch. It wasn’t too steamy, too over done, or too romantic. It was realistic. And realistic romance is something that I appreciate in books.

I was actually sad when Spin was over, I like the characters so much. And I can’t wait to read more from McKenzie. I have a feeling she’s going to become one of my fave authors. In fact, I actually think she already is.

Browse inside Spin.

6 Responses to “Review: Spin by Catherine McKenzie”

  1. Sheila (Book Journey) February 5, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    This one is on my reading list this week and I am so excited to read it based off of your positive review!

    • lavenderlines February 6, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      Hope you enjoy it! I have a new Q&A with Catherine I’ll be posting tomorrow. AND a re-review of Spin for the US launch!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Review: Spin by Catherine McKenzie « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - January 18, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by dsaarinen, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: Review of Catherine McKenzie's Spin. https://lavenderlines.wordpress.com/2010/01/18/review-spin-by-catherine-mckenzie/ […]

  2. Q & A with Catherine McKenzie « Lavender Lines - January 19, 2010

    […] & A with Catherine McKenzie By lavenderlines If you read my review of Catherine McKenzie debut novel Spin, then you know that I simply fell in love with this book. I […]

  3. BBAW and awkward self-promotion « Lavender Lines - July 8, 2010

    […] Review: Spin by Catherine McKenzie […]

  4. My fave reads of 2010 « Lavender Lines - January 2, 2011

    […] Spin by Catherine McKenzie – I read this one in January and new immediately it would end up on this list. Call it chick-lit, general fiction, Hell call it a space ship, I don’t care. Because what I call it is funny, touching and brilliant. […]

Leave a Reply

