SeriesPalooza

14 Dec

A few weeks back over on Twitter, GalleySmith asked around if anyone would be interested in a readathon centered around book series. Immiediately a bunch of us went YES!, and SeriesPalooza was born.

This is a very low-key reading challenge that starts today and goes until Sunday. All you have to do is read books from series. It can be all the same series or books from different series you’ve been meaning to read.

I was planning on using SeriesPalooza as a way to unwind after the big move. But seeing as the big move isn’t until Sunday (ain’t life great sometimes?) I’ve had to cut down on my reading list.

I am hoping to get two whole books read! Yes, folks, that’s two books. Since I have been averaging about one book every two weeks, two books is a lot right now. And here are my choices:

Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden.
This is the first in Marsden’s Tomorrow series, which was highly recommended by several people on Twitter.

Extras by Scott Westerield
This is the fourth and final in Westerfeld’s Uglies series. I read the first three earlier this year but never got around to reading the final book, probably because it takes place after the first three with a new slew of characters.

5 Responses to “SeriesPalooza”

  1. Michelle December 14, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    Marsden’s series is one of my favorites! I hope you enjoy it. I was planning to read the fourth book but it’s packed away in a box somewhere so I’m shifting to an e-book I have on NetGalley to start in the hopes that I’ll dig out the other this week.

    Good luck and happy reading 🙂

  2. Christine December 14, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    I think 2 books in a week is fantastic! I’ve been averaging one book every 3 weeks and I’m not moving! Sigh. Let me know how Extras is.

  3. Whitney December 14, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    I agree, 2 books a week is fantastic! I’ve been wanting to read Scott Westerield’s Uglies series I hope you enjoy the final installment.

  4. Stephanie December 14, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    I read Tomorrow, When the War Began in middle school and never finished the series, though I always meant to. I’m probably going to have to start back at the beginning, though, it’s been so long.

  5. BiblioMom December 14, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    Two books is HUGE. And moving is stressful and exhausting. I just moved in October and for a week after the move I crashed the minute I opened a book. Good luck with the move and reading anything at all is a big accomplishment during this week.

Leave a Reply

