Writers write, right?

11 Dec

I’m a writer. I’ve always been a writer. Ever since I was in grade 6 and my best friend and I sat down to write a “novel” about the boys we liked. (It turned out to be 7 hand written pages of crap, but hey, it was my crap.)

About a year and a half ago, I decided to quite the 9 to 5 life and try my hand at a career in freelance writing. As soon as I sat down and started looking for work, I was hooked. It was like I had finally slipped into the right skin. I was doing something that I loved.

But, you know, life is kinda funny. The past few months I have been doing minimal writing to keep afloat, which means that the projects closest to my heart (my blog and my books) have kinda taken the hardest hit.

As a result, when I run into people and they ask me what I’m up to (career wise) I find myself hesitating to say I’m a writer. Because writers write, right? And if I haven’t been writing, do I still get the honor of calling myself a writer?

I’ve thought about it a lot, and yes, I think I still do get to call myself a writer. Because whether I am actively writing or not, I’m a writer. It isn’t something I do, it’s something I am.

Leave a Reply

