Book Blogger Holiday Swap: an instant pick me up.

9 Dec

Today was some kind of craptastic. Screaming parrot, doggie diarrhea and me stepping in a full container of primer which then went all over our hardwood floors. I really had the feeling that I should have stayed in bed.

And then the mail came. And in it? My Secret Santa gift!

I signed up for the Book Blogger Holiday Swap and my gift came today. And what a gift it was. Hot chocolate packs, banana flavored mints (oddly yummy, BTW), a beautiful shiny star ornament and a book.

The book my Secret Santa Rachel over at books i done read sent me actually made me squeal a wee bit. Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle. In her note to me, Rachel mentioned that Jackson is a fave of hers.

Well, little did she know that Jackson wrote my all time favorite short story, The Lottery.

The gift was a perfect fit for me, something that a friend would have picked up. I loved it.

7 Responses to “Book Blogger Holiday Swap: an instant pick me up.”

  1. Nymeth December 10, 2009 at 3:33 am #

    That’s such a good book. Enjoy! 😀

  2. gnoegnoe December 10, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    What a lucky pick! Or.. is she really an all-knowing Santa? 😉

    • lavenderlines December 10, 2009 at 11:12 am #

      Hard to say! Either way, it made me happy. :0)

  3. gnoegnoe December 10, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    Happy is gooooooooood! :))

  4. Mary December 11, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Great gifts!
    “banana flavored mints (oddly yummy, BTW)” – that made me laugh 😀

  5. Aarti December 11, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    I’ve heard so much about that book! It sounds so eerily creepily good 🙂

  6. lesly December 22, 2009 at 7:13 am #

    One of my favourites! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

