Canada Reads 2010 reading challenge

1 Dec

Last year I listened to the Canada Reads debate on CBC Radio. Unfortunately I hadn’t read any of the chosen books. This year, I will not make the same mistake. I plan on reading all five books and thought that this would be a great first challenge for me. As a Canadian and a supporter of Canadian literature, I love the idea of a challenge centered around Canadian books. And, unlike some other challenges that are quite large or open ended, all this challenge requires is that you read the 2010 Canada Reads books. And, to make it even easier, you can choose how many of the books you want to tackle. I plan on reading all five, including the one that I have already read.

If you feel up to the challenge and want to join, just leave a comment.

2010 Canada Reads novels:

Good to a Fault by Marina Endicott – defended by Sima Sara

Nikolski (translated) Nicolas Dickner, Lazer Lederhendler – defended by Michel Vezina

Generation X: Tales for an Accelerated Culture by Douglas Coupland – defended by Roland Pemberton

The Jaded Peony by Choy Wayson – defended by Samantha Nutt

Fall on Your Knees by Ann-Marie MacDonald – defended by Perdita Felicien

4 Responses to “Canada Reads 2010 reading challenge”

  1. Christine December 1, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    I feel like I’m ahead of the game this year b/c I’ve already read Fall on Your Knees. Woo hoo! Go me! Granted, it was oh…5-7 years ago, but I’ve still read it! Ahem. I would love to read The Jaded Peony, if I can get my hands on a copy. Let’s start with that.

    • lavenderlines December 1, 2009 at 1:45 pm #

      I’ve also read Fall on Your Knees, but will be re-reading it.
      Hey, you want to read The Jaded Peony? Looks like you’re in the challenge!

  2. Lynn December 4, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    I’m not sure if I’ll re-read Generation X but I’m definitely reading the other four. So I’m in!

  3. Christine December 10, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    I will commit to reading The Jaded Peony in January. As long as you let me borrow…lol.

Leave a Reply

