What I picked up at Indigo

15 Nov

The past couple of months have been pretty rough. I’m still renoing the house and after being home for a month, hubby is back out West working. Add to the mix exhaustion and a killer cold and I’ve been down in the dumps, especially this past week.

As I posted a couple of days, ago, Indigo had a sale this week end. I hit it yesterday and picked up half a dozen new books. As it turns out, all of them have something to do with the supernatural or urban fantasy. Here’s what I bought:

Bloody Good by Georgia Evans – This is an urban fantasy that takes place during WWII.  I never realized that historical urban fantasy was a genre before. I’m just newly introduced to historical fiction, so I’m intrigued by this book.

Tithe by Holly Black – As a fan of YA urban fantasy, I was a bittithe ashamed that I hadn’t read anything by Holly Black yet.

Kitty Raises Hell by Carrie Vaughn – I love Vaughn’s books about Kitty the DJ werewolf and I usually read them in one sitting. I didn’t even realize that there had been a new one out since last March.

Extras by Scott Westerfeld – I received Westerfeld’s Uglies trilogy last year for my birthday and loved the series. This book is set some ten years later, but in the same world.

Heck:Where the Bad Kids Go by Dale E. Basye – A story about Milton and Marlo Fauster who die and end up in Heck, an otherwordly reform school? No way I could pass this one up.  It sounds like it’s going to be very funny and will probably be the first of the 6 that I read.

The Den of Shadows Quartet by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes – Thisden_of_shadows volume includes In the Forest of Night, Demon in My View, Shattered Mirror and Midnight Predator. The cover of this book caught my eye (it reminded me of the cover for Hush, Hush) and once I read the back of the book I decided to give it a try. Besides, 4 books for the price of one plus 25% is a great steal.

4 Responses to “What I picked up at Indigo”

  1. Cat November 15, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    Ha ha! It’s funny that you almost picked up A Great and Terrible Beauty and *I* almost picked up Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go! You wouldn’t believe the number of times I have picked up and then put down Heck. It’s calling to me! Though now I know there’s a sequel that just came out in hard cover I might just wait until next summer and get them both at once.

    Did you also get the fancy “surprise” gift card? That if you spend over $50 you can get anywhere from $10 – $2,500 OFF? I find this very exciting and it’s a wonderful excuse to just go BUY more books. Muahahha! (I might get Christmas presents with it so I won’t feel so guilty about the money.)

    • lavenderlines November 15, 2009 at 10:57 am #

      Yeah I got the surprise gift card, but I’m not planning on using it. But it doesn’t mean I can’t hand it to hubby to use to buy me books. *evil grin*

  2. Allison November 16, 2009 at 8:47 pm #

    I really love your tastes in books. They look REALLY interesting!

    What is “Indigo”?

    • lavenderlines November 16, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

      Indigo (Chapters) is a chain of books stores in Canada. I guess you could called it the Canadian Barnes and Noble? LOL

Leave a Reply

