It’s Monday! What are you reading?

2 Nov

Monday

So,  last week was my first time taking part in this great little meme, hosted by J. Kaye. I found that it helped me to stay a bit more focused in my weekly reading, although I did wander a bit, as you’ll see. Still working on the house, so my reading is not what it normally is. But I finished two books and made a dent in a third, which isn’t too shabby for someone who spends all their current time renovating.

Books completed last week:

Bad Apple by Laura Ruby – I just loved this book. I read most of it in one day, since it was the type of book you can’t put down once you are into it. The story was unique, the characters quirky and the writing fantastic.

A Touch of Dead by Charlaine Harris – While this wasn’t on my to read list, it arrived just in time for Halloween. Four short stories about Sookie Stackhouse, this was also a quick read and was read in a night. Light and fluffy, it was the perfect relaxation read.

Currently reading:

The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson- Yes, I am still reading this. I’m about 200 pages in and while I am enjoying it more, I’m finding it a “thick” read. I think this one will take me a while to finish.

Books to complete this week:

I’d love to finish The Gargoyle, but I’ll have to see. I also want to read Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick and Neil Gaiman’s Fragile Things this week, plus Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden.

A tall order, I know, especially when you take into consideration that I’m doing NaNoWriMo this month.  We’ll see.

4 Responses to “It’s Monday! What are you reading?”

  1. Christine November 2, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    I am in awe of you. I started Specials on Thursday. I am on page 13. I KID YOU NOT. Having a week where too tired to read more than 2 pages at night, and no down-time during the day/evening to partake. Hoping this changes soon…

    PS. Does Specials get better b/c I’m not really getting into it. Granted, am only on page 13 but still…

    • lavenderlines November 2, 2009 at 11:59 am #

      Specials was my least favorite in the series, but it does get better.

  2. Niranjana November 2, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    I liked the initial Stackhouse books, but the later ones were SO light and fluffy they verged on insubstantial. That said, I may just pick up this collection too!

    • lavenderlines November 3, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

      It was a very, very light read, but I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

