My top 5 scary reads

30 Oct

carved_pumpkins

With the major house renos that hubby and I are doing to our new house, Halloween kind of snuck up on me this year. Normally, I pick one or two scary books and read them during the last two weeks of October. Well, I didn’t get a chance to do that this year.

But over the years I have read some pretty scary books. I thought I’ve share with you my top 5 scary reads of all time.

Amityville Horror by Jay Anson– Yes, I know it’s been debunked. Yes, I know it’s pure fiction. Doesn’t make it any less creepy.

Christine by Stephen King– My first horror book ever. My Mom won it in a Halloween contest and, not knowing the subject matter, handed it to 13 year old me. I fell in love with the genre, despite the sleepless nights after reading it.

The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan– Best damn vampire book I’ve strainread in quite a while. No sparkly teen vamps anywhere. Just pure bloodsucking fiends.

It by Stephen King– Okay, this one freaked me out so much I was in tears when I finished. The premise of a big nasty, evil monster appearing to you in the form that scares you the most is creepy enough. But the ending? Well, without giving anything away, Pennywise’s true form? Yeah, the thing that scares me the most. I was traumatized.

True crime book – I can’t for the life of me remember the name of the book (I think I blocked it from my memory) but I remember reading it while away at university, finishing it and instantly locking my bedroom door and staying awake all night. Why are most victims in these books college-aged girls? Last true crime book I ever read.

One Response to “My top 5 scary reads”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for My top 5 scary reads « Lavender Lines [lavenderlines.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com - October 30, 2009

    […] My top 5 scary reads « Lavender Lines lavenderlines.wordpress.com/2009/10/30/my-top-5-scary-reads – view page – cached With the major house renos that hubby and I are doing to our new house, Halloween kind of snuck up on me this year. Normally, I pick one or two scary books and read them during the last two weeks of… (Read more)With the major house renos that hubby and I are doing to our new house, Halloween kind of snuck up on me this year. Normally, I pick one or two scary books and read them during the last two weeks of October. Well, I didn’t get a chance to do that this year. (Read less) — From the page […]

Leave a Reply

