Clear Off Your Shelves Challenge

20 Sep

For the last little while I’ve been staring at an ever growing pile of books that I want to read. The pile has grown so monstrously large that I’ve even spread the books out, in an effort to trick myself into thinking that there aren’t that many. But there are. And I know it.

So you can well imagine how happy I was to hear about the Clear Off Your Shelves Challenge over at S. Krishsna’s blog. In a bit of a twist, this challenge isn’t about reading particular books, but rather about the percentage of books you read. Basically a percentage of the books you will read between October 1st and November 30th have to have been on your book shelf for six months or more.

With all the great books coming out this fall and the recent book buying spree I went on, this challenge could be difficult. But I think I’m up for it.

So, I have decided that a whopping 50% of the books that I read in October and November will be review and non review copies I’ve had for at least six months. Tonight I’ll grab a notebook, pen and duster as I go in search of those older books that are begging to be read. Once I finish the latest Kathy Reichs. And The Amanda Project. And Mr.Darcy, Vampyre.

Oh dear…….

2 Responses to “Clear Off Your Shelves Challenge”

  1. S. Krishna September 20, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    Wow, 50%! I was thinking of doing that, but thought it would be REALLY BAD if I didn’t finish my own challenge so I revised it down to 40%. Good luck!

  2. lavenderlines September 21, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Thanks! Well, I’ve gotten very behind in my reading over the past year! The biggest challenge will be finding where I put all my older books. I have about 30 paperbacks I bought with wedding money a couple of years ago (SUCH a book nerd!) but I have no idea where I put them!

Leave a Reply

