Likewise: The High School Chronicles of Ariel Schrag by Ariel Schrag

27 Aug

Published by Touchstone, 2008
Reviewed by Colleen McKie

In Likewise, author Ariel Schrag completes the telling of her years in high school, a story that was started in Awkward and Definition and Potential. Likewise explores Arial’s final year of high school.

The awkwardness of high school is captured beautifully in LikewiseLikewise, and at times I felt somewhat awkward reading it.  I also thought that the main character was very whiny at times, but then I remembered back to what high school was like and I realized that she captured those agonizing feelings of desperate crushes, not fitting in and trying to decide who you are perfectly.

Likewise was my first foray into the world of graphic novels, and I think that I may not have enjoyed the telling of the story as much as I could have due to the fact that I wasn’t used to the medium.  I have a feeling that as I read more graphic novels, I will be coming back to Likewise to give it another read.

Check out Likewise.

Leave a Reply

