Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari & giveaway

17 Jun

Publisher: Scholastic Canada
Released: June 1st, 2011
Genre: YA dystopia
Review copy from publisher


Smallpox epidemics, floods, droughts — for sixteen-year-old Lucy, the end of the world came and went, taking 99% of the population with it. As the weather continues to rage out of control, and Sweepers clean the streets of plague victims, Lucy survives alone in the wilds of Central Park, hunting and foraging for food. But when she is rescued from a vicious pack of hunting dogs by a mysterious boy named Aidan, she reluctantly realizes she cannot continue on her own. She joins Aidan’s band of survivors, yet a new danger awaits her: The Sweepers are looking for her, and they’ve laid a trap. There’s something special about Lucy, and the Sweepers will stop at nothing to have her in their clutches.

From Scholastic Canada website.

Holy snappin’ TURTLES! This book starts off with a shot of adrenaline and doesn’t stop until the last word. Seriously. There’s no preamble or anything. Jo starts us off right in the middle of the action and I DUG IT. Majorly. This is the best kind of dystopia in my opinion and Ashes, Ashes was very reminiscent of The Hunger Games and The Forest of Hands and Teeth in action, pacing and OMG factor.

Okay, Lucy was one kick-ass heroine. And I loved the back and forth snarkiness between her and Aidan when they first met and through most of the book. The dynamic between the two of them was pitch perfect.

Maybe I’m sadistic or something, but I LOVE when in dystopian literature and movies the main characters overcomes adversity and find themselves gathered with others, apparently “saved” and then BAM! more badness comes along, usually from somewhere unexpected. Lucy is on her own then meets up with Aidan and other survivors. Things should be grand. Strength in numbers, right? Yeah, so, so not the case. Cuz there’s these Sweeper dudes tracking Lucy and they want her bad.

This book was ooey, gooey fun and I whipped through it so fast that I had to force myself to slow down at times. It has EVERYTHING I love about dystopian novels: a wicked cool heroine, plague, natural disasters, plots within plots and twisted villains.

Honestly, folks, I can’t recommend it enough.

GIVEAWAY TIME!

Okay, if you are in Canada, then this giveaway is for you! I have one copy of Ashes, Ashes to give away. You don’t have to follow the blog or tweet or video tape yourself fighting the elements or anything. You just have to answer one little question: What would you rather face – plague or natural disaster? You can also throw in why if you want. Contest will end June 24th and I’ll be randomly choosing a winner.

11 Responses to “Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari & giveaway”

  1. trinamlee June 17, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Wow sounds like a good book. I guess I’d have to pick natural disaster. Plague seems scarier to me cuz you can’t see it and it can be passed from person to person. *shudder* (trinafeil@gmail.com)

  2. Steph VanderMeulen June 17, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    No way! Thanks for this chance to win!

    Hmmm, that’s a huge tough question. I think I’d rather face natural disaster. Disease of any sort really freaks me out, esp. contagious disease. *shudder*

    • Steph VanderMeulen June 17, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      Ahaha! That comment wasn’t there when I commented and we both wrote *shudder*! :)

  3. Ms. S June 17, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Natural disaster. I would rather try to keep my family safe and know that if we lose everything, we still have each other. I wouldn’t feel I could protect them as well from something like a plague.

    Sounds like a great book!

    • The Fable Fairy June 18, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      I would say a plague simply because you can attempt to contain a plague but a natural disaster could be very widespread within a matter of seconds. Thanks for the giveaway :-)

  4. A Canadian Girl June 19, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I’d go with a natural disaster because I think society is more used to it and better equipped to deal with it. Thanks for the giveaway!

  5. Cait H. June 19, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Love this review! I was already excited for this book, but now I’m even more so.

    I think I’d rather face a natural disaster, even though they terrify me. I feel like they’d be “easier” to deal with then a plague.

  6. Colleen Easter June 20, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I guess Natural disaster because it is more contained. Of course, if my family and I had immunity to the plague then maybe? No…wouldn’t wish it on you guys.

  7. winnie June 21, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    I think I’ll rather face natural disaster…
    thanks for the giveaway!

    chibipooh(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. Megzarooni June 23, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    I think I’d rather go up against a natural disaster. I woun’t want to be living in fear that the plauge would infect you next, or watch people I know slowly die D: With that said I woudn’t want to have to go through either senario.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogoversary giveaway #2 Ashes, Ashes « Lavender Lines - August 26, 2011

    [...] Halifax. Color me excited and fan-girly.)  I frigging LOVED this book. I mean it. Here’s a link to my review in case you don’t believe [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

