My fave reads of 2010

2 Jan

So last year I did a post about my top three reads of the year. Well, it looks like this year it’s going to be a bit of a longer list. When I sat down and thought about the books I’ve read in 2010, I realized that this was an amazing reading year for me. I went through a few slumps (November was THE WORST), but over all I’m pretty damn happy with the books I read. So, in no particular order, here are my top reads of 2010:

Spin by Catherine McKenzie – I read this one in January and new immediately it would end up on this list. Call it chick-lit, general fiction, Hell call it a space ship, I don’t care. Because what I call it is funny, touching and brilliant.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver – Technically I think I read this one last December, but it was out in January.  I walked around in a daze for about a week after I finsihed this YA novel. It made me think about things and that’s always a good thing.

Shiver and Linger by Maggie Stiefvater – If you come to the blog or follow me on Twitter, then you know that I’m pretty much obsessed with these YA werewolf books. Lyrical writing, amazing characters and cliff-hanger endings that left me gasping for breath, I love these books.

Plain Kate by Erin Bow – This MG/YA book made me laugh, cry, laugh then cry again. I know so many people that, like me, were an emotional mess when they finished this book. The story was beautiful and I think Taggle the cat was one of my favorite characters of the year.

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White – So freaking different from other YA paranormal books. It was laugh out loud funny, didn’t have a love triangle and the romance wasn’t all consumming. Man, this book blew my socks off.

The Truth about Delilah Blue by Tish Cohen – I love smart chick-lit. Really, I do. And this book was smart, quirky and believable even when I coulnd’t believe what the characters were going through.

The Fossil Hunter of Sydney Mines by JoAnn Yhard – This middle grade mystery was so, so good! It took me back to the days of reading Eric Wilson. And the mystery? Yeah, I couldn’t figure it out.

Wake, Fade, Gone by Lisa McMann – I loved the sparse writing style of McMann’s trilogy so much that I devoured these books in a couple of days. For some reason I don’t think I ever posted a review for Gone. Probably because I was so upset the series was over. :P

Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong – I love all of Kelley’s books, but this is by far my favorite in her Women of Otherworld Series. Savannah is a kick-ass lead and the plot was fast-paced and amazing, as usual.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan – OMZombies! I think my heart was racing the whole time I was reading this book. I know there were several times that my eyes were basically bugging out of my head. I felt like I needed a nap or a Valium when I was done.

I know that there are probably a few books that I’m forgetting, so there may well be a follow up post. But these are definitely the books that kept be giddy and happy about reading in 2010.

6 Responses to “My fave reads of 2010”

  1. Amanda January 2, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Before I Fall was amazing! And Plain Kate. Both of those barely missed out on my top 15.

    I had a huge slump in November too. It sucked! Maybe it was a NaNo thing…

    • lavenderlines January 2, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Lauren’s new book, Delirium was also freaking amazing! I know it’ll be on my fave of 2011 list.

  2. Kathleen January 2, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Spin made my list as well. Loved it.

    • lavenderlines January 2, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      Catherine’s new novel, Arranged will def be on my fave reads of 2011 list. Loved it to death.

  3. amymckie January 2, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    What a list of books :) Some on there that I enjoyed, a few that I might read some day. Happy to see the list. All the best in 2011!

  4. Jennifer Rayment January 3, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    I also love Paranormalcy and thought Shiver and Linger were quite good. I haven’t read any of the others on your list but have now added a couple of them to my tbr list. Plain Kate looks interesting and I must read some of Kelley Armstrong’s otherworld series

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

