Let the read-a-thon begin!

9 Oct

Breakfast is eaten, I’m showered and the house is cleaned. I am now readyyyyyy to reeeeeeeeeeeead!

I’m going to start with The Scorch Trials. While I didn’t love The Maze Runner, I did love the last bit of the book and I have a sneaking suspicion The Scorch Trials is going to be a kick-ass read.

Since the hubs is home this year, I was going to try to do the whole 24 hours, but, as luck would have it, I am currently deathly sick and in a lot of pain with, ahem, “women’s issues” so I’m going to have to play today by ear.

I’ll be updating every 2-3 hours,so for those who follow the blog, I am so, so sorry for any clogging of your feed reader that I may contribute to today. I send virtual Halloween kisses and caramel apples in apology.

Look to my Twitter and Goodreads feeds for more frequent updates.

And for those fellow read-a-thoners – HAPPY READING!!!!!!

7 Responses to “Let the read-a-thon begin!”

  1. Melwyk October 9, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    Yikes! Good luck, have fun, and hope the reading is a good prescription for pain.

  2. Maree October 9, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Sounds like the perfect excuse to curl up with a heating pad, a cup of tea and a good book. I hope you feel better <3

  3. softdrink October 9, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    (Non)traditional Buddhist readathon blessing:

    Just as the books fill the shelves,
    Pile together on the floor and stack up on the table
    So may the joy of the readathon
    Flow forth to brighten your day and lift your spirit.
    Books already read, books in progress and books yet to be read.

    By the power of every word on the page
    May your book be delightful,
    As scary as Lovecraft’s Cthulhu
    Or as sweet as a box of See’s candy.

    Let the power of the images evoked by words
    Keep you stay awake long through the night
    May no obstacle impede
    Your day filled with books.

    For all of those who are reading today
    Who follow in the path of Dewey
    May your day be filled with the four blessings
    Of fabulous books, tasty snacks, comfy chairs and joy.

  4. amymckie October 9, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear that you are sick :( I hope you feel better soon, and that reading takes your mind off of it. I hope you are enjoying your books!

  5. slpmartin October 9, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Good luck and feel better! Read ON!

  6. MartinaCK October 9, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    You showered and cleaned!? I was too lazy to do either and just jumped right into the reading :D

    Anyhow, here to cheer you on during a quick break. Have fun reading!!

  7. Vasilly October 9, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Happy reading! I hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

