Review: Torment by Lauren Kate

7 Oct

Publisher: Random House Canada
Release year: 2010
Genre: YA  paranormal, sequel to Fallen
One sentence summary: One girl, two boys (no, make that three boys) and a Hell of a lot of angels.
Rating:4 out of 5
Review copy from publisher

Hell on earth.

That’s what it’s like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angel boyfriend, Daniel.
It took them an eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts—immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans.

At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. He’s hiding something—something dangerous.
What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?

From Random House Canada website.

 

*If you haven’t read Fallen, this review will totally spoil crap for you*

Another beautiful cover of a girl with long- flowing hair. Luce is still growing out her buzz cut. Since I ranted so much about the cover in my review of Fallen, that’s all I’ll say.

So, we know that Daniel is a fallen angel. And so is Cam. And pretty much everyone else at Sword and Cross. Except for the kids that got killed. Oh, and the teachers are protectors or something. Except for the evil ones.  And now there’s an 18 day truce between the good angels and the bad angels while they all band together to protect Luce from other nasties that want to kill her.

Hmm, Daniel. I’m going to take a lot of flack for this upcoming comment, but I really don’t like this guy. At all. He swoops in, screws up Luce’s life, moves her away from her family, growls “Stay here. Don’t move.” Then swoops out. No explanation. Nada. Then, when she “disobeys” he swoops back in and growls some more.

Thankfully Luce is none too impressed either and she starts wondering if this forever, always, till the end of time crap with Daniel is the real deal. She meets new kids at Shoreline, including boys. If this had been another who-cares-if-he-treats-me-like-shit-we’re-destined-to-be-together story line I would have pitched the book across the room. But no, Kate does something that I loved by making Luce actually use her brain and question her relationship with Daniel.

Some of the head shaking questions I had at the end of Fallen were explained, especially the deal with the Shadows. I’m still fuzzy on how mortal enemies like Cam and Daniel can call an 18 day truce to team up, but I guess it’s the whole the enemy of my enemy thing.

Okay, I’m not going to give anything away, but there’s one scene towards the end, right before the big climax, that just made me so happy. It was cool and funny and just, well wonderful. If you’ve read the book you probably know what I’m talking about.

The ending, of course, was another cliff-hanger, even more so than Fallen. I wasn’t OMG wowed by it, but if I had the third book here I would have picked it up immediately to find out what happens.

Huh, writing up this review I realize that I liked Torment a lot more than I thought I did.

11 Responses to “Review: Torment by Lauren Kate”

  1. Amanda Makepeace October 7, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I can’t read this because I don’t want spoilers!! :) But I’m wondering how this compares to Hush, Hush and Crescendo? Fallen angels seem to be a popular theme right now.

    • lavenderlines October 7, 2010 at 9:15 am #

      Well, let me put it this way: I read Hush, Hush but am in no rush to read Crescendo. At. All. I read Fallen and Torment in the same week and would have read the third one immediately if it was out.

      I felt that there’s more meat to Fallen and Torment, but then again it’s been over a year since I read Hush, Hush. All I remember is that I was trying to describe it to someone the week after I read it and I couldn’t remember any of the names.

      • Amanda Makepeace October 7, 2010 at 9:25 am #

        Wow! I’ve been meaning to read Fallen and they have it at our library. Time to reserve a copy me thinks!

  2. amymckie October 7, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Heh – didn’t I say the relationship part w/ Daniel was kick ass? I loved Luce questioning him and thinking about things. I just kept being all like “You go girl!”. Then being like “Ok enough with the angst and the lameness”, but at least she’s thinking for herself! lol

  3. healy October 8, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    Not a big fan of this one which bummed me out. Definitely not romance driven like Fallen. I did like that Luce finally started taking matters into her own hands seeing as for some reason, Daniel feels she should known next to nothing. He irked me in this book. :/ And I agree, the secondary characters are probably my fave aspect of this series.

  4. Vasilly October 8, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    I love this review! I laughed so hard! This sounds kind of like Hush, Hush which I see from the comments that you didn’t like at all! It was a page turner but that’s about it. Hope your next read is great! :-D

  5. brandileigh2003 October 15, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    I enjoyed it too– but I know what you mean about Daniel. I am still to be compeltely sold on him, but hopefully Passion will do it for me.

    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

    • Number1FanOfFallenSeries April 2, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

      I think yal dnt understand a thing about hoow writters work we work to keep u interested in the book and i lovd all the books that has came out so far of fallen it is wonderful and i dnt know to much about the hush book but if ts as good as fallen series imma read it.Oh yea if u lik reading you should try the House Of Night Novels their great.

      • lavenderlines April 4, 2011 at 7:56 am #

        Well, I’m glad you liked the series as much as you do. And I do pretty much understand how writers work: I am one.

      • Number1FanOfFallenSeries April 4, 2011 at 9:51 am #

        I wasnt tlkin bout u.@Lavenderlines

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge V « Lavender Lines - November 8, 2010

    [...] by Courtney Allison Moulton Fallen by Lauren Kate Torment by Lauren Kate Dust City by Robert Weston Ruined by Paula Morris American Vampire by Scott Snyder, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

