The awesomeness of Canada Reads 2011

5 Oct

OMG the people over at CBC kick ass! For the tenth anniversary of Canada Reads they are shaking things up in a major way. For full deets check out the CBC website, but here’s the Dummies version:

This year the panelists won’t be choosing their own books. Well, technically they won’t. CBC is looking for all kinds of folks to nominate a Canadian book from within the last decade that they’d like to see on Canada Reads. Each nomination counts as a vote. On October 26th the top 40 books will be deemed the “Top 40 Essential Canadian Novels of the Decade.”

From this list of 40 books the panelists will pick the top ten, which will be announced on the 9th of November. From this list, the panelist will choose the book they want to defend.

Seriously, this is all kinds of neat, eh? I love how CBC has decided to make Canada Reads more interactive. And it’s going to be great to see that top 40 list! I know my wish-list is going to grow crazy big.

And - excuse me while I do a happy dance – I was asked to nominate a book as part of a blogger’s choice list!!!! This makes me so happy and honoured and a bit teary-eyed.

I know the book I will be nominating. As soon as I get the okay, I shall share with you all. For those that know me really, really well it won’t come as a BIG surprised. After all it was one of my favorite reads of last year. :)

3 Responses to “The awesomeness of Canada Reads 2011”

  1. L October 5, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    that is a great idea to increase interest and involvement. and congrats on being asked to contribute to blogger’s choice list.

  2. amymckie October 5, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Wow, I love CBC Reads, how cool that you are a part of it!

  3. Julie November 10, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    I do not share your enthusiasm. This whole “list” thing is contrived. The point of Canada Reads, to me, is the suprise of who will pick what. The panelists should be defending books that means something to them, that have affected their lives in some signficant way; that connection is now gone and more than likely most panelists will be defending books that they don’t care about. Allowing the public to choose the best 40 books also bothers me as this type of popularity voting always leads to a homogeneous list of the usual suspects. I love Canada Reads and have followed it from the beginning. I am usually so exciting around this time….this year I am mostly meh, and little pissed off.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

